In the evolutionary process of becoming the positive person I wish to be, I take note of issues that I find conflict with.

The Prayer Request

Why does such a request conjure up mixed feelings? I don’t want to be a jerk about it, sometimes I feel that if I offer an alternative, someone else will take it as an insult.

Perhaps the mixed feelings are due to me believing in prayer during my childhood, then at some point I had to separated myself from belief but now I am looking for the middle ground, what to say, what to do?

In the world of conflict, I want to take the high road. I want to be able to see all sides, be the mediator and be the one who can balance all views. Let’s find what we agree on and not focus on those things that make us disagree.

I don’t believe in the power of prayer but I believe in the power of positive thinking. While the thought of someone praying for you may bring comfort, would it also bring comforting thought if I send you a card, stopped by to cook you a meal? Lend you a hand? or if you do not wish to have company, perhaps there is something else I can do for you or your family in your time of need?

but then I wonder, do I really want to be the person to hold back words that you want to hear? My friend, if it helps you, I will read to you the words you wish to hear.  “It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg..”  (Thomas Jefferson)

I wish all people felt like this. Perhaps we would have less conflict in the world. 🙂

Namaste

